ASPIRA of Florida Main Office

email-icon-vector6100 Blue Lagoon Drive, Suite 460

Miami, FL 33126

                   Voice: (305) 269-6767

                   Fax: (305) 269-6722


Remember Me

Top Panel




  • ASPIRA of Florida
  • Educational Excellence
  • Youth Advocacy
  • Leadership Through Education
  • ASPIRA of Florida


ASPIRA of Florida



Celebrating 25th Years of Recognizing the Achievements of Miami-Dade's Youth

On Friday, May 13, 2011, ASPIRA of Florida, Inc., Miami-Dade Division held its 25th Annual Youth Awards Ceremony. Nearly 150 ASPIRANTES, parents, Local Advisory Council Members and staff came together to celebrate the achievements of the youth participants at the Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel.

The evening began with an inspirational dance performance by the William H. Turner Technical Arts High School "Reach Dance Ensemble," which is comprised of ASPIRA Leadership Club members. Their dance entitled, "Victory," set the tone for the magical evening.

Throughout the night, awards were presented, including Up & Coming Pitirre, Extra Mile, Spirit and Perseverance Awards, and the Family of the Year Award. Three of those awarded were:
· 2011 ASPIRANTE of the Year: Roxanne Eugene, William H. Turner Technical Arts High School, ACF - North and ACF Miami-Dade;
· 2011 ASPIRA Leadership Club of the Year: William H. Turner Technical Arts High School;
· 2011 Community Partner of the Year: BJ's Wholesale Clubs

In addition, the 2011 ASPIRA College Education Scholarship (ACE) recipients were announced by Local Advisory Council members who raised more than $13K and awarded $10K during the event. Scholarships were sponsored in part by: Alan James Insurance, Banco Popular, Falk, Waas, Hernandez, Cortina, Solomon, Bonner, P.A., and the Office Depot Foundation.

The 2011 ACE recipients are: Aisha Akter (Miami Beach Senior High School), Afia Anjunman (Miami Beach Senior High School), Perpetua D. Budeau (North Miami Senior High School), Caridad Cruz (Booker T. Washington Senior High School), Christine Destine (North Miami Senior High School), Claudia Fontaine (North Miami Senior High School), Huiying Feng (Miami Beach Senior High School), Jean-Louis Kermica (North Miami Senior High School), Natasha Mathurin (Homestead Senior High School), and Frantz Predestin (North Miami Senior High School),

The evening was topped off with a time of pure celebration as the ASPIRANTES and guests danced the night away with music by High Intensity Sound.

A special thank you to those special guests who attended: Carlos Aguilar, Esq.(Law Offices of Carlos Aguilar & LAC Member), Harvis Astorga (Fidelity Investments & LAC Member), Orlando Espinosa (Emineo Media & past ASPIRA employee) Gizelle Ortiz-Velázquez (Brown Mackie-College & LAC Vice-Chair) Pedro Rivera (Miami Children's Hospital & LAC Treasurer), and Sandra Sanchez (ASPIRA, Brown Division).